

North Central Section meeting, March 15, 1967. Left to right: G. R. Jackson, treasurer; E. J. Brinkmeyer, board member-at-large; B. A. Greenwell, board member-at-large; R. A. Reiners, incoming president; Joseph Endres, board member-at-large; R. J. Evans, outgoing president; G. C. Rimnac, secretary; F. A. Norris, vice-president; L. H. Wiedermann, board member-at-large.

North Central Section Honors W. O. Lundberg for Outstanding Research

R. J. Evans Presides over Bailey Award Dinner

The North Central Section of the American Oil Chemists' Society held its annual Alton E. Bailey Award Dinner on Wednesday, March 15, at the Swedish Club in Chicago.

Immediately preceding the meeting, the outgoing President, R. J. Evans, presided over a Board of Governors Meeting. Primary topics discussed were: a more suitable meeting place, and methods for encouraging more people to join the American Oil Chemists' Society.

Following a brief social hour, the guests were treated to a delightful broiled ribeye steak dinner. After dinner, President Bob Evans called the meeting to order and introduced D. P. Arndtsen, Chairman of the Bailey Award Committee, who outlined the history and purpose of the award.

The Alton E. Bailey Award, one of the most coveted in the industry, was established in 1959 by the North Central Section of the American Oil Chemists' Society to honor the man the committee feels has contributed most extensively to "Outstanding Research and /or Service in the Fields of Oils, Fats, Waxes, and Allied or Associated Products."

The medal commemorates Alton E. Bailey's outstand-

"In recognition of his outstanding research in the physical biochemistry of fats and his service to the profession." R. J. Evans presents the Alton E. Bailey Award medal to W. O. Lundberg (right). Dr. Lundberg is the seventh recipient of the honor.

ing contributions in the field of fats and oils as a researcher in many different areas, as the author of several outstanding books, and as a leader in the work of the Society.

standing books, and as a leader in the work of the Society. Since 1959 there have been six medalists: V. C. Mehlenbacher, R. H. Potts, J. C. Cowan, A. R. Baldwin, T. P. Hilditch, and Daniel Swern.

Fourteen Firms Sponsor Award

Several firms have given evidence of their interest by generously providing the financial sponsorship which makes the Bailey Award possible. The following companies participated in the 1967 program: Anderson Clayton & Company; Archer Daniels Midland Company; Cargill, Inc.; Central Soya Company; Corn Products Company; The DeLaval Separator Company; Distillation Products Industries; Durkee Famous Foods; General Mills, Inc.; S. C. Johnson & Son, Inc.; Oscar Mayer & Company; Mead Johnson Research Center; National Dairy Products Corporation; and E. H. Sargent & Company.

W. O. Lundberg is Seventh Medalist

We were all very proud to have as our 1967 Medalist, W. O. Lundberg, Executive Director of the Hormel Institute and Professor of Biochemistry at the University of Minnesota. Dr. Lundberg received his Ph.D. in Chemistry at Johns Hopkins University in 1934. After serving



R. J. Evans (left) receives past president's plaque from newly elected president, R. A. Reiners.



Representatives of the firms sponsoring the Bailey Award fund (left to right): W. C. Pritchett, National Dairy Products Corp.; R. W. Bates and G. G. Wilson, General Mills; Charles Crump, E. H. Sargent Co.; B. A. Greenwell, De Laval Separator Co.; Albert Bleakely, Cargill, Inc.; R. A. Reiners, Corn Products, Inc. Industries contributing to the fund but not represented in the photograph: Anderson Clayton and Company; Archer Daniel Midland Company; Central Soya Company; Distillation Products Industries; Durkee Famous Foods; S. C. Johnson & Co., Inc.; Oscar Mayer & Company; Liquid Dynamics; Mead Johnson Research Center.

a year as an instructor in Chemistry at Hopkins, he returned to the University of Minnesota where he has been ever since. He has published over 130 scientific articles, mostly concerned with the chemistry, processing, nutrition, and metabolism of fats and oils, and was editor of a two-volume work on "Autoxidation and Antioxidants" published in 1961–62. He has been an active member of the American Oil Chemists' Society since 1944 and served as President in 1963–64. He is still a member of the Governing Board and numerous committees, and he is now Editor of Lipids.

Lundberg Gives Comprehensive Address

Dr. Lundberg was introduced by his longtime friend, C. W. Hoerr, President of the American Oil Chemists' Society. In his address, Dr. Lundberg very eloquently covered three interesting subjects. First, he outlined the history and purpose of *Lipids*, an American Oil Chemists' Society publication to which he has recently been named Editor. He then gave a complete history of the founding and growth of the Hormel Institute. As a young scholar, Dr. Lundberg was recipient of one of the first fellowships awarded by the Hormel Institute, and was later to become its Executive Director. In the third part of his address, Dr. Lundberg discussed "The Confusion about Lipids in Vascular Disease."

The presentation of the Bailey Award Medal to Dr. Lundberg was made by President Evans. The inscription on the award read, "In recognition of his outstanding research in the physical biochemistry of fats and his service to the profession."

New Section Officers Named

For the final order of business, President Evans introduced Cele Gilmore, Chairman of the Nominating Committee, who presented the following slate of officers for the coming year: President, Robert Reiners; Vice-President, Frank Norris; Secretary, George Rimnac; Treasurer, George Jackson. Members-At-Large: Two Year Term: E. S. Brinkmeyer and B. Greenwell. Second Year of Two Year Term: J. G. Endres and H. T. Spannuth. The selections of the Nominating Committee were accepted by members without opposition and elected by acclamation.

R. A. Reiners was officially installed as the new President and presented outgoing President Evans with a beautiful mounted gavel as a memento of his outstanding term of office. The meeting was then adjourned.

Thomas

Peak Detector-Printout System



The Thomas PEAK DETECTOR-PRINTOUT SYSTEM for automatic recording of spectrophotometric data consists of a Model 3 CONCENTRATION READOUT which indicates and delivers printout signal for four-digit absorbance or concentration values, and a DIGITAL CONVERTER which takes the signal and prints it as a four-digit figure on paper tape with four-digit sample number in an adjacent column.

The unique feature of the system is the peak confirmation provision built-in to prevent recording of false peak values due to noise. The system gives only the single true peak value for each sample.

EDP-coupling coded output circuit boards are offered as accessories for Digital Converter.



All Perkin-Elmer Model 139 and Coleman Model 101 Spectrophotometers sold by us are modified by us for connection to digital readouts. B. & L. "Spectronic 20" will be so modified by us, on request, at time of purchase.

Bulletin No. 9096-J51 sent upon request

ARTHUR H. THOMAS COMPANY

Scientific Apparatus and Reagents
VINE STREET AT 3RD
PHILADELPHIA, PA. 19105